Aside

 U. S. News and World Report ranked the best diets for 2013: the best weight loss diets, best plant-based diets, best heart-healthy diets, best diabetes diet, best commercial diets, best diets for healthy living, best diets overall, and easiest diets to follow. Some interesting reading there. 

In my long history with diets, I’m convinced of two things. First, a healthy lifestyle is better than any diet, but a “diet” diet may be a means to that healthy lifestyle. And second, if you go the “diet” diet route, the one that works for you is the one that’s best.

What I mean is that I need a lot of flexibility. Others need a lot of structure. Some need a strict regimen. I can’t manage with what I think of as an all or nothing approach – one where any small slip-up can undo weeks of effort. I need a balance that provides enough structure to keep me going in the right direction without built-in pitfalls that turn a slip-up into a what-the-heck-I’ve blown-it-now binge. Enough philosophy. 

Today was a challenge. I’ve had insomnia as long as I can remember, but Sunday nights are always hardest, so Mondays would be a good day to take a nap if there were time to take a nap. I did not want to do yoga when I got home from work today. I really wanted to curl up on the couch with a couple oranges and a scarf to crochet to an Ingrid Bergman movie. 

So to keep myself honest, the first thing I did when I got home was change into my yoga clothes. I’d feel too silly walking around the house in my yoga clothes, so that’s one way I keep myself honest. Tomorrow, I plan to add a workout from another free Android app – Women’s Health Workouts Lite and see how that goes. There’s a paid version, but I usually start with the free version before I buy. I’ll let you know how it goes.    

And while I’m busy adding in all these links, here’s the link to the Libra app for tracking weight.

Leave a Reply

