Back again

So, it’s been awhile. I was travelling, then I was catching up at home and at work after travelling.

Travelling is always hard on my eating habits. I lose control of how food is prepared, and I tend to give myself too much permission to do things like stop at the next Dairy Queen for a Georgia Mud Fudge blizzard with extra chocolate syrup. This time, I drove by all but one Dairy Queen (and no, I didn’t turn around and go back), which I count as a victory. And as I’ve said before, I add little or no salt to my food, and restaurants add way too much for my taste or my waist.

But I have a few other things on my mind. In my last post, I was thinking about adding a strength workout. I found apps in both the Google Play Store and the Apple App Store. I started exploring with great enthusiasm – which didn’t last long. It turns out that all of the apps I found were not for beginners. I found my knees were so creaky, I couldn’t even do a lunge!

So, I went looking for beginner workouts. I found these on the Shape magazine website, which I’ll explore this week. The Shape Up Size Down – Beginner’s Workout and the Shape Up Size Down – Absolute Beginner’s Workout – Part 2. Then I searched on the Shape magazine website and found a whole “shape up” series along with some good advice and insight from “Skinny Ms”. If none of that works, I’ll explore some of the other links that came up when I Googled “beginner workout”.

All of that started me thinking about everyday lifestyle choices I’ve made that basically mean I’m volunteering to be old before my time. Some are silly, but some may have an impact on long-term flexibility and range of motion. For instance, I said earlier that one of my goals is to touch my toes on the first sun salutation instead of the third in my yoga workout. I started noticing all the times I could bend over and stretch my leg muscles (but I don’t) – picking something up off the floor, putting on my shoes, getting something from a bottom drawer or cabinet. There are too many to list. But over time, don’t these little everyday choices begin to limit range of motion? So come on, now, unless you’re wearing a mini skirt (and if you’re 55, you really shouldn’t be wearing a mini skirt, should you?) go ahead and bend on over and stretch those leg muscles!

 

 

Leave a Reply

